tutor profile

Tess

Subjects

• 4+ Preparation:
• 7+, 8+, 10+, 11+: English, Maths, Science, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Verbal Reasoning
• 13+ and below: English, Maths, Science
• GCSE: English, History, Classics, Geography, History of Art
• AS/ A-Level: History, English, Classics, History of Art
• GCSE: English, History, Classics, Geography, History of Art
• University: Ancient History, Classical Studies, Oxbridge applications

Education

Oct 2015 – Jun 2018
BA Hons in Classical Archaeology and Ancient History,
Oxford University

Grade: First Class
Scholarship for first class performance (2016-2018)

Sep 2007 – Jun 2014
Edgbaston High School for Girls
Chamberlain Academic Scholar (2007-2014)
A level: History (A*), Classical Civilisation (A*), Latin (A) Extended Project: A*
AS Level: History (A), Classical Civilisation (A), Latin (A), Critical Thinking (A), English (B)
GCSEs: Mathematics (A*), English Literature (A*), English Language (A*), Science (A*), Additional Science (A*), Geography (A*), Spanish (A*), Latin (A*), History (A*), Ancient Greek (B)

Teaching Experience

My particular areas of expertise lie in the humanities, classical languages and essay writing skills. Having undertaken qualifications in both Critical Thinking and Reasoning and Thinking Skills, I am accomplished in helping pupils to develop sophisticated essay structures and skills of analysis, writing, and argumentation. Additionally, I have previously worked as a revision buddy and organisational mentor. My personal experience within the Oxbridge tutorial system has given me insight into the application process. Having gone through eight Oxford interviews and undertaken the History Aptitude Test (HAT), I am in a strong position to help with practice interviews and UCAS statements. I provide advice on relevant skills and work experience to undertake in order to build up a strong personal statement and CV, having assisted a number of students with their applications. I also interact well with younger students, having volunteered at my former prep school to assist children with their reading and spelling. I have considerable experience in living with families, helping as both a tutor and companion to coach students to successfully academic outcomes and develop their social and cultural knowledge.

Biography

I have been professionally tutoring since 2014, and am currently working as a tutor alongside undertaking the law conversion course in London. As a student, I have a flexible schedule in which I am able to commit myself . wholeheartedly to my time as a tutor. 

I am passionate about education, and find it incredibly rewarding helping young students to develop their confidence and sense of intellectual curiosity. I believe in an enthusiastic and individualised approach to tuition in order to engage my pupils and help them to achieve excellent results.

I aim to build a good relationship with all my tutees and to develop their confidence so that each session can be as productive as possible. I prepare fully for all tutoring sessions and believe in a structured tutoring approach to enable the student to gain the most out of their time, placing emphasis on the importance of properly understanding key concepts as well as focusing on exam technique. However, I am attuned to the different needs of my students and tailor my approach to the personality and learning style of the individual, for example ascertaining whether visual, written or oral methods are more effective. Initially, I focus on ascertaining the strengths and weaknesses of the student in order to adapt my teaching to this and develop upon their skills. I am patient and sensitive and will diligently go over concepts until the student feels comfortable. Ultimately, I aim to make the learning process enjoyable as well as productive in order to engage tutees to the utmost.

Close Menu