tutor profile

Siofra

Subjects

  • 4+ Preparation
  • 7 +, 8+, 10+, 11+: English, Maths, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Verbal Reasoning
  • 13+ and below: English, Maths, Science, French, German, Latin
  • GCSE: English, Theatre Studies, History, Religious Studies, Latin, Philosophy
  • AS/A-Level: English, Theatre Studies, History
  • University: Personal Statements, English Literature

Education

Sep 2018 – now            
MA in Creative and Life Writing (Part-time) Goldsmiths

Sep 2014 – June 2018  MA in English Literature, University of Glasgow
Grade:
First Class (awarded Elizabeth M Yearling Award)

Sep 2016 – June 2017    University of Virginia (year abroad)
Grade:
4.0 GPA

2006 – 2013 City of London School for Girls (full academic scholarship)
A Level: English Literature (A) Latin (A) History (A)
AS Level: English Literature (A) Latin (A) History (A) Economics (A)
GCSE: 12 A* – English Lit, English Lang, Latin, Greek, German, History, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Maths, Further Maths

Teaching Experience

My teaching style is different with each student – catered to what they need to achieve, but also to how they seem to learn best. I make sure to concern myself with what is demanded by the exam boards – to teach the students what is required, and how to understand the papers. But what is special about my style is how encouraging I am, aiming to make them confident in their own abilities, and inspiring them to want to do better. I have tutored independently, and with a more experienced tutor, and this experience has shown me how to tailor my own style toward the need of each student.

Biography

I’m a graduate of English Literature (at University of Glasgow) currently taking my MA at Goldsmiths University. I work part time in publishing, and write for Theatre, TV and Film. The flexible nature of my hours, and the passion I have for teaching means I can be a committed tutor for Union Tuition London.

Close Menu