tutor profile

Portia

Subjects

  • Early Stages 4-7 – Working with children to develop early literacy and numeracy skills, giving them a step up for the early stages of schooling.
  • School Entrance Exams (7+, 8+, 11+, 13+) – Working on English, Maths Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning skills, alongside interview technique. – Worked with many students to successfully achieve places at top Independent Schools including Harrow, Eton, Westminster, Uppingham, Oundle, KCS, UCS and The Royal Hospital School
  • Scholarship Preparation (13+) – Preparing students for interviews and tests in various subjects at scholarship level. – Successfully worked with students to gain scholarships at Harrow and Eton, amongst other schools.
  • GCSE (Maths, English, History, Sciences, French, Latin, Greek, Russian) – Working with students over year-long stretches to prepare for their GCSEs, but also in ‘crash-courses’ closer to exam dates. – Developing course knowledge, but also exam and revision techniques.
  • AS/A-Level; French, Russian, English, Latin

Education

Sep 2019 – June 2020
GDL (Law Conversion at BPP Waterloo)

Sep 2015 – Sep 2019
BA Oxford Russian and Czech 1st 

Sep 2010 – July 2015   Marlborough College, Wiltshire

Academic Scholar                    
A Level: Russian (A*), English Literature (A*), French (A)                               
AS Level: Russian (A), French (A), Latin (A)

GCSE: English Literature (A*), English Language (A*), Maths (A*), French (A*), Russian (A*), Biology (A*) Chemistry (A*), Physics (A*), History (A*), Latin (A*), Greek (A*)                                           

Teaching Experience

I have a done a wide range of teaching and tutoring both in the U.K and abroad. I have lots of London experience preparing students for GCSE. From September – December 2018 I tutored a six year-old Russian girl and her three year-old brother twice a week in English, in addition to providing general homework assistance. The focus of the lessons was primarily on spelling and writing. From June – August 2018 I tutored fulltime for two months in Italy. I worked with five different families across a range of ages. One of the children was working towards her 11+ exams and I prepared her for this. I ran group classes, as well as the traditional 1:1. From February – June 2018, I taught a series of students in St Petersburg.

Biography

I am currently a professional tutor living in London and working towards my GDL law examinations. Prior to moving back to Oxford for my final year of study, I spent five months living in St Petersburg. Furthermore, I have spent several summers tutoring in Forte dei Marmi. I played college netball and Oxford university and was in the first team at school. I am also a passionate horse rider and have done British eventing in the past. I finished in the top ten Devises to Westminster in 2014.  

Close Menu