tutor profile

Mairie

Subjects

• 7+, 8+, 10+, 11+ preparation: English, Maths, Non-Verbal reasoning, Verbal Reasoning
• 13+ and below: English, Maths, Science, Humanities
• 13+ and below: Interview Preparation
• GCSE: English, Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, History
• A-Level: Religious Studies, History, Biology

Education

Sep 2018 – Jun 2020
MSc in Politics of Conflicts, Rights and Justice,
SOAS, University of London

Sep 2013 – Jun 2017
MA Hons 2:1 International Relations, University of
Edinburgh

Sep 2007 – Jun 2012
Ampleforth College, North Yorkshire,
A Level:
A*, A*, A (History, Christian Theology, Biology)
GCSE’s: 5 A*, 1 A, 2 B, 1 C (Maths, Chemistry, Biology,
History, Theology, English, French, Physics, Latin)

Teaching Experience

Throughout school I took part in a programme tutoring maths to GCSE students and those in need of extra help. I have always very much enjoyed the joint partnership between tutor and tutee, identifying an area of difficulty, breaking the matter down and finding a way of reframing a subject to a person’s particular strengths and techniques in learning.

Immediately after leaving university, I chose to go into education becoming a teaching assistant for a Year 2 class at Garden House Boy’s School. I very much enjoyed the pastoral care involved, but also the influence I had on the children’s academic progress. Working with younger children being a very different skill, and I gained huge amounts of experience of the education system, examinations and general teaching methods. I successfully helped across a wide range of areas, from teaching the alphabet to the low ability group, to 7+ preparation with the higher ability group. I spent weekly sessions working with the Special Educational Needs students in my class, catering to their particular needs.

My notable tutoring work involves 11+ tutoring for ‘Teachers as Tutors’. Over a period of 6 months I spent 2 hours weekly with a Year 6 boy taking his 11+, teaching English, Maths, Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning. We made fantastic progress together, through a mature student teacher relationship and also a personable element in which we discussed a range of academic related problems he faced. Interview preparation was a key part following his successful exams, and I was thrilled he was offered a place at Westminster Under this past September (2018).

Furthermore, I spent the August 2018 tutoring a 12 year old girl in Maths and English. Going into the first session with little information it quickly became evident of the gaps in her learning and I adapted the planning in place to use the time to further cement the core skills in mathematics, including time, measurements and times tables. It was a pleasure watching her come along and help her be in better stead for the start of Year 8.

Biography

I am a part time Master’s student at SOAS whilst living in London. I chose to further my education after my undergraduate degree as I have always been a passionate learner and thrived off my academic nature and ability. I very much enjoy the role as a tutor and academic mentor. Whilst I am not working in education currently, I feel a strong urge to continue working in education with a strong possibility of a career in teaching ahead. I am confident teaching children with Special Educational Needs as well as those of high ability, and look forward to working alongside children to aid their academic improvement and success!

Close Menu