tutor profile

Leslie

Subjects

• 4+ Preparation

• 7+, 8+, 10+, 11+: English, Maths, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Verbal Reasoning, Spanish

• 13+ and below: English, Maths, History, Spanish, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Religious Studies, Art, Music

• GCSE: English, Maths, History, Spanish, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Religious Studies, Art

• AS/ A-Level: Spanish, Chemistry, Biology, Theology

• Undergraduate: Medicine, Biomedical Sciences

Education

Sep 2013 – Jun 2019
BM BCh in Clinical Medicine, Oxford University
Sep 2013 – Jun 2016 BA in Medical Sciences, Oxford University

Sep 2008 – Jun 2013
Eton College, Windsor
Cambridge Pre-U: Spanish (D1)
A level: Chemistry (A), Biology (A)
AS level: Theology (A), Chemistry (A), Biology (A)
GCSEs: English Language (A*), English Literature (A*), Mathematics (A*), History (A*), French (A*), Spanish (A*), Chemistry (A*), Physics (A*), Biology (A*), Religious Studies (A*)

Sep 2006 – Jun 2008
St. John’s Beaumont, Old Windsor

Teaching Experience

My wide range of tutoring experience over the years has firmly impressed upon me the need to adjust my approach and tailor sessions in order to best facilitate the growth of each specific student.

I have tutored students from as young as 8 years old all the way through to undergraduate level where, as an Anatomy Fellow, the sessions I was delivering were highly specialised and subject specific. Naturally, dealing with such a wide age distribution has lent itself to the development of patience and a feel for the level of direction necessary to best lead a session. Students across all age groups make mistakes but different personalities and age groups require different levels of encouragement and support in order to best recognise this as a symptom of the learning process.

Being dyslexic myself and having done specialist tutor work with autistic children, I am well aware of the individual challenges that students may face. I am keen to work with them in order to help create a learning process that will not only serve them well within the sessions, but will also be one that they can take forward through the rest of their academic careers.

Lastly, having benefitted from two historic institutions, I am a firm believer in access to quality higher education. I have been involved with a number of mentorship schemes and these coupled with my own educational history have demonstrated the need for a holistic approach to education. Learning does not stop outside the classroom and I am keen to nurture a determination and inquisitiveness of spirit that the student may carry with them at all times.

Biography

I am a newly qualified medical doctor that has tutored professionally throughout my student career. I have taken a year off post-university to enjoy my passions of music, art and writing, as well as to allow myself time to consider a potential career switch. As such, I have a very flexible schedule which allows me to commit to tutoring over an extended period of time.

My family being of Ghanaian origin and having lived in 6 countries to date, I am very comfortable with different cultures and happy to work internationally.

I look forward to helping students maximise their potential and discover a newfound love of learning!

Close Menu