tutor profile

Jake

Subjects

• Early Stages 4-7: Working with children to develop early literacy and numeracy skills, giving them a step up for the early stages of schooling.
• School Entrance Exams (7+, 8+, 11+, 13+) Working on English, Maths Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning skills, alongside interview technique.
– Worked with many students to successfully achieve places at top Independent Schools including Harrow, Eton, Westminster, Uppingham, Oundle, KCS, UCS and The Royal Hospital School
• Scholarship Preparation (13+) Preparing students for interviews and tests in various subjects at scholarship level.
-Successfully worked with students to gain scholarships at Harrow and Eton, amongst other schools.
• GCSE (Maths, English, History, Sciences) Working with students over year-long stretches to prepare for their GCSEs, but also in ‘crash-courses’ closer to exam dates. 
-Developing course knowledge, but also exam and revision techniques.
• AS/A-Level; University Admissions (History and Economics) Working to develop essay writing and exam technique so as students can achieve the top grades.
-Working with students to complete UCAS applications and gain places at Russell Group Universities and Oxbridge.

Education

Sep 2018 – Sep 2019
MSc Violence, Conflict and Development, SOAS,
University of London

Sep 2014 – Jun 2017
BA (Hons) History, University of Exter; 2:1

Sep 2006 – Jun 2014
Ipswich School, Suffolk
A Level: Economics (A*), Maths (A), History (A)
AS Level: Economics (A), Maths (A), History (A) Critical Thinking (A), Film Studies (A) Russian (B)
GCSE: English Literature (A*), English Language (A), Maths (A*), French (A*), Russian (A*), Biology (A*)Chemistry (A*), Physics (A*), History (A*)

 

Teaching Experience

With over five years and 1000 hours of tutoring experience I have built up a range of skills which allow me to work with a wide variety of students and deliver high levels of success. I have experience of residential, online and short-term tutoring, and a strong track record of helping students achieve their highest potential. Recently I was given the award of Tutor of the Term for my work with an established London tutoring firm.

I am a strong believer that each student requires a different approach, dependent on their own needs and learning style. My style of tuition is highly flexible, and adaptable to the needs of the students. Whilst at school, I saw how heavy handed teaching styles could at times put people off subjects for good. Therefore I always aim to fit my teaching to the individual. I believe I am engaging and passionate, and I try to make lessons fun, whilst delivering academic rigour.

I have worked with students from 4-18 years old, on a range of different subjects. With younger students I have aimed to stir a passion for learning, whilst with older students I look to try and improve revision and exam strategies so as they are able to work confidently on their own and achieve their goals .

Biography

​Alongside tutoring I am currently taking part in a Msc at SOAS, University of London, which has been a highly enjoyable experience. When I am not tutoring or studying I enjoy music and most sports (especially cricket, football, rugby and cycling). I am an extremely active person, and also have a lot of experience working at summer camps with children aged up to fifteen. When taking part in residential tuition I have found this to be an asset, as being active during study breaks can help to keep high levels of concentration, and keep learning fun.
Close Menu