tutor profile

Balthasar

Subjects

Early Stages 4-7

  • English, Maths, Science, Verbal Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning
  • Working with children to develop early literacy and numeracy skills

School Entrance Exams (7+, 8+, 11+, 13+)

  • Worked with many students to successfully achieve places at top Independent Schools including Harrow, American School London, Oundle, and Haberdashers

Scholarship Preparation (13+)

  • Preparing students for interviews and tests in various subjects at scholarship level

GCSE (Maths, History, Sciences, German, Latin, Geography)

  • Working with students over year-long stretches to prepare for their GCSEs, but also in ‘crash-courses’ closer to exam dates.
  • Developing course knowledge, but also exam and revision techniques.

AS/A-Level; University Admissions (Chemistry, Latin)

  • Helping students improve their knowledge of the course and also exam-technique in crash-courses or longer periods of time

Education

2007 – 2013 Städtisches Görres-Gymnasium, Düsseldorf
Certificate: Mittlere Reife

2013 – 2015 International Baccalaureate, Oakham School, Rutland, England

  • Higher Levels: Chemistry, Latin, German Lang. & Lit.
  • Standard Levels: Mathematics, Geography, English Lit.
  • Certificate: International Baccalaureate
  • Grade: 42 Points

2016-2020, Imperial College London
MSci Chemistry UCAS code F103

Teaching Experience

I first started tutoring in my teenage years – mostly to children of friends of my mum or friends of mine who were struggling with their workload or the course content. At college, I then started tutoring more methodically, helping the younger children in my boarding-house keep up with their peers. In my Gap-Year in China, I tutored many students.

Ever since, I joined Imperial College, I have been tutoring in a professional context, working for various tutoring agencies and having vastly honed my teaching abilities due to the wide range of students, I taught and helped prepare for upcoming entrance tests or final exams.

My past students have been any age between 6 and 18, with most of them achieving their hoped-for grades or higher.

Biography

I grew up in Germany, in the Rhineland, where I lived until age fifteen when II joined Oakham School, a boarding school in rural England. I sat my International Baccalaureate-diploma there, achieving highly with a point-score of 42 (equivalent to A*A*A*). After finishing my secondary education, I decided to learn Chinese; therefore, I went to Qingdao to live with a Chinese host family and work for a company there. After my gap-year, I enrolled for MSci Chemistry, where I am in the process of completing my degree with a upper-second diploma in the coming calendar year (Summer 2020). Afterwards, I will probably pursue a PhD in chemistry.

Close Menu