tutor profile

Abi

Subjects

  • French
    A1-B2, KS3, GCSE, A-Level, IB, Undergraduate

  • English
    7+, 8+, 10+, 11+, 13+, KS3, GCSE, A-Level, IB

  • English as a Second Language (ESL)
    A1-B2

  • Italian
    KS3, GCSE, A-Level, IB

  • Interview Preparation

  • University Admissions & UCAS Applications

Education

University of Cambridge
BA
French and Italian (2.1)

Longslade Community College
A-Level
French (A), Maths (A), English Literature (A)

Teaching Experience

After graduating from my bachelor’s degree in 2018, I started teaching English Language and Literature at GCSE level (WJEC and AQA exam boards). I taught in-person, one-on-one lessons with a focus on exam preparation and grammar.

In 2020, I moved to Paris and began teaching English as a Foreign Language to French students (A1-C2) at a prestigious learning centre. At beginner level, I worked on basic grammar, vocabulary and building confidence in speaking. With my more advanced students, I worked on high-level grammar, translation and speaking practice. I also guided students through the English-speaking parts of their university applications and I am pleased to say that my students were accepted into some of the most highly regarded institutions in France.

During the pandemic, I also taught group and individual lessons in French as a Foreign Language, ranging from beginner level to advanced speaking practice. This was a project I set up to help people living in France learn French for free, and I focused the lessons on having fun and learning practical, everyday vocabulary.

Biography

I am a lover of languages with a special passion for learning new ones and encouraging other people to do so too! In particular, I’m fully bilingual in French, and I’m now working on Dutch and Spanish.

I spent four years studying French and Italian at the University of Cambridge, focusing on linguistics, grammar and translation. I started Italian as a beginner at Cambridge, so I know the difficulties of starting a new language! During my studies, I did a year abroad studying History at the University of Siena in Italy, which is how I built my fluency in Italian.

I like to travel as much as I can and, as well as living in Italy, I spent three years in France and one in Australia. I spend time reading books, watching films and looking at art from these places (and many others besides!), and I would be delighted to share these interests with new students.

I have worked in various industries, including early years second language learning through immersion and university education. I’ve always liked to work with people, which is why teaching is so important to me.

Outside of teaching, the rest of my time is taken up with music. I am a singer and guitarist and occasionally perform. I was singing songs in Italian before I’d even learnt the language!