tutor profile

Izzy

Subjects

  • Key Stage 2 Literacy and SATs: English reading; English writing; English grammar, punctuation and spelling

  • Key Stage 3: English Language and Literature

  • GCSE and iGCSE: English Literature and Language

  • AS/A Level: English Literature

  • IB: English Literature and Language

  • Oxbridge Application: English Literature and Language Personal Statement help; ELAT prep; English Literature interview prep

 

Education

2019-2020: MA Shakespeare Studies, King’s College London

2014-2017: BA English Literature and Language, University of Oxford, 2:1

A Levels: English Literature (A*); History (A); German (A)

AS Levels: Japanese (A)

GCSEs: 11 A*s (including: English Literature; English Language; Maths; Physics; Chemistry; Biology; German; Japanese)

Teaching Experience

I have spent the past fifteen months tutoring on a full-time basis for a company in Warsaw, Poland. As part of my job, I worked with a range of students of all ages, levels of ability, and education needs. In my role as an after-school tutor, I worked with a range of students, from general help in English to exam prep for SATs, GCSEs, iGCSEs, and IB. I was also solely responsible for delivering English Literature A Level teaching for Sixth Form students in a one-on-one environment. Another aspect of my job was working with students applying to UK universities, particularly Oxford and Cambridge, in order to strengthen their applications. I have experience in successfully tutoring Oxbridge applicants for the English Literature Admissions Test (ELAT) and in delivering interview preparation and mock interviews. I have also delivered one-on-one residential summer tutoring programmes in Oxford in academic and creative writing, for which one of my students created an award-winning piece of literary criticism. I firmly believe that one-on-one tutoring sessions are the most effective way of improving a student’s confidence and that with a little help, any student can find enjoyment and achieve highly in their studies.

Biography

I am currently undertaking a Masters in Shakespeare Studies at King’s College London. Before enrolling at King’s, I graduated from the University of Oxford with a 2:1 in English Literature and Language and then spent fifteen months working in Poland and the UK as a full-time professional tutor. I enjoy working with students to help achieve their potential and adapting my teaching to really engage each individual student that I tutor.

Close Menu